top of page

BTCC: Rockingham Qualifying

The Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship roared back into action today as the 31 cars headed out onto the Rockingham circuit in Northamptonshire for a key qualifying session.

Amazingly, the top 28 cars come the end of the session were covered by less than a second, whilst a number of championship challengers failed to take advantage and didn't even make the top ten. The depth of talent in the BTCC truly showed today as it was a real shake up of the order.


The Mac Tools with Ciceley Motorsport Mercedes of Adam Morgan grabbed pole position for the first of tomorrows three races, by posting a time of 1:22:835. Just over a tenth behind the Mercedes, was the Motorbase Ford Focus of Sam Tordoff who is looking to get back on the title hunt and keep in touch with the leaders.

Dan Cammish will line up third, just in front of a very impressive Mike Bushell who lines up in P4 for the first of tomorrow's races.

Dan Lloyd and Chris Smiley completed an all BTC Norlin third row with Tom Chilton, Brett Smith, Jason Plato and Ashley Sutton completing the top ten order.

Source: Eric Barnes Photography

In terms of the title protagonists, Colin Turkington and Tom Ingram line up 12th and 13th respectively, with Matt Neal all the way down in 29th. Newcomers to the championship, Ricky Collard, Glynn Geddie and Ollie Pidgley will also line up in 26th,30th and 31st respectively.

It looks like its a real shake up of the order and we will be in for some fantastic racing as the title battle intensifies.


2018 Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship – Qualifying – Rockingham

1 Adam MORGAN (GBR) Mac Tools with Ciceley Motorsport 1m22.835s (84.31 mph) Sam TORDOFF (GBR) Team GardX Racing with Motorbase +0.102s Dan CAMMISH (GBR) Halfords Yuasa Racing +0.251s 4 Mike BUSHELL (GBR) Trade Price Cars with Brisky Racing +0.328s Dan LLOYD (GBR) BTC Norlin Racing +0.380s Chris SMILEY (GBR) BTC Norlin Racing +0.386s Tom CHILTON (GBR) Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Gallagher +0.417s 8 Brett SMITH (GBR) WIX Racing with Eurotech +0.428s 9 Jason PLATO (GBR) Adrian Flux Subaru Racing +0.439s 10 Ashley SUTTON (GBR) Adrian Flux Subaru Racing +0.448s 11 Andrew JORDAN (GBR) BMW Pirtek Racing +0.484s 12 Colin TURKINGTON (GBR) Team BMW +0.486s 13 Tom INGRAM (GBR) Speedworks Motorsport +0.511s 14 Matt SIMPSON (GBR) Simpson Racing +0.512s 15 Aiden MOFFAT (GBR) Laser Tools Racing +0.515s 16 Sam SMELT (GBR) AmD with Cobra Exhausts +0.521s 17 Senna PROCTOR (GBR) Power Maxed TAG Racing +0.542s 18 Bobby THOMPSON (GBR) Team HARD with Trade Price Cars +0.640s 19 Ollie JACKSON (GBR) AmD with Cobra Exhausts +0.656s 20 Rory BUTCHER (GBR) AmD with AutoAid/RCIB Insurance Racing +0.697s 21 Josh COOK (GBR) Power Maxed TAG Racing +0.734s 22 Tom OLIPHANT (GBR) Ciceley Motorsport +0.758s 23 Jack GOFF (GBR) WIX Racing with Eurotech +0.779s 24 Rob AUSTIN (GBR) DUO Motorsport with HMS Racing +0.794s 25 James COLE (GBR) Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Gallagher +0.836s 26 Ricky COLLARD (GBR) Team BMW +0.949s 27 Michael CAINE (GBR) Team HARD with Trade Price Cars +0.954s 28 Stephen JELLEY (GBR) Team Parker Racing +0.988s 29 Matt NEAL (GBR) Halfords Yuasa Racing +1.035s 30 Glynn GEDDIE (GBR) AmD with AutoAid/RCIB Insurance Racing +1.784s 31 Ollie PIDGLEY (GBR) Trade Price Cars with Brisky Racing +1.958s


Check out our Podcast!
New Le Mans 2024 clothing coming soon!

Advertise with Prescott Motorsport and get your brand in front of thousands of passionate motorsport fans. Take advantage of our huge readership and leverage our website to promote your business, product or service. 

bottom of page