top of page

Strategy Call Nets CGR Long Beach Win

Written by Matthew Boyce Cover Image: Richard Prince/Cadillac

Chip Ganassi Racing has won the Acura Grand Prix of Long Beach giving Cadillac a 1-2 results on the tricky California street circuit. Renger van der Zande crossed the finish line first ahead of Jack Aitken for Chip Ganassi Racing's first IMSA win since last season at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca. van der Zande shared the win with CGR co-driver Sebastien Bourdais.

Pipo Derani led the race from pole in his No. 31 Action Express Racing Cadillac V-Series.R until the one and only round of pit stops. The No. 31 opted for a two tire stop, while the No. 01 opted to not take any new Michelin tires. That choice gave the No. 01 the lead and resulted in the victory. Completiting the GTP class podium was the No. 7 Porsche Penske 963 of Dane Cameron and Felipe Nasr. Even after a collision resulting in a multi car incident with under 25 minutes to go, the second Porsche Penske 963 finished in fourth. Proton Competition Porsche of Gianmaria Bruni and Mike Rockenfeller rounded out the top five in the GTP class.

Both Wayne Taylor Racing with Andretti Acura ARX-06's had dismal races, with the No. 40 Acura of Louis Deletraz crashing out into the turn one tire barriers. The resulting yellow bunched up the field, and while charging up the running order, the No. 10 Acura was served a drive-through penalty after a collision with the No. 85 JDC-Miller Motorsports Porsche of Richard Westbrook. This penalty dropped the No. 10 down the order and out of contention.

Vasser Sullivan Starts, Finishes on the Point in GTD

The No. 89 Vasser Sullivan Lexus RC F GT3 of Parker Thompson and Ben Barnicoat started on pole and finished first after a dominant performance. Barnicoat finished a comfortable 1.449 seconds ahead of its nearest competitor, securing a win for the debuting No. 89 in class. After locking out the front row with the No. 89 Lexus, the No. 12 Vasser Sullivan Lexus of Frankie Montecalvo dropped out of contention for the win at the start of the race after Montecalvo was penalized for changing lanes.

Jake Galstad/LAT

Turner Motorsport drivers Patrick Gallagher and Robby Foley piloted their No. 96 Turner Motorsport BMW M4 GT3 to second place while third went to the No. 32 Korthoff Preston Motorsports Mercedes-AMG GT3 Evo of Mike Skeen and Mikael Grenier. After missing qualifying on Friday, the No. 66 Gradient Racing Acura NSX GT3 Evo22 of Stevan McAleer and Sheena Monk clawed their way through the GTD field to secure a fourth place finish in class. Proton Competition rounded out the top five in class in the No. 55 Ford Mustang GT3.

The IMSA WeatherTech Sports Car Championship races next at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca next month.


Check out our Podcast!
New Le Mans 2024 clothing coming soon!

Advertise with Prescott Motorsport and get your brand in front of thousands of passionate motorsport fans. Take advantage of our huge readership and leverage our website to promote your business, product or service. 

bottom of page