top of page

FIA WEC: Le Mans Hyperpole places set.

Kamui Kobayashi set the fastest time during qualifying on Wednesday, and the drivers vying for Hyperpole during a session hit by rain in the second half.

The five Hypercars are already guaranteed a place in Hyperpole, but the Japanese driver outpaced Romain Dumas' No. 708 Glickenhaus 007 Pipo by 0.108 seconds.

Robin Frijns led the way in LMP2 in the No. 31 Team WRT Oreca 07 Gibson with a time of 3:29.898.

Jose Felix da Costa of JOTA placed second, while Norman Nato, Alex Lynn, Felipe Albuquerque, and Louis Deletraz of Prema all occupied the other Hyperpole spots.

GTE-Pro saw the six factory-entered cars occupying the top six, with Riley Motorsports eliminated.

With a best lap of 3:50.999, Laurens Vanthoor was 0.133 seconds quicker than Antonio Garcia's No. 63 Corvette C8.R.

In the No. 85 Iron Dames Ferrari, Rahel Frey secured a Hyperpole spot, along with Dempsey-Proton Racing driver Harry Tincknell, and AF Corse's Vincent Abril claimed the final spot.

IMAGES - Rick Kiewiet for Prescott Motorsport

Find our PR and Media gallery here -

Full classification can be found below

03_Classification_Qualifying Practice
Download PDF • 284KB


Check out our Podcast!
New Le Mans 2024 clothing coming soon!

Advertise with Prescott Motorsport and get your brand in front of thousands of passionate motorsport fans. Take advantage of our huge readership and leverage our website to promote your business, product or service. 

bottom of page