top of page

BTCC: Turkington Takes It On Final Weekend

The Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship was won by Colin Turkington for a third time after three excellent races on the Brands Hatch GP circuit in Kent.

The BMW man held a 34 point advantage going into the weekend and it was crucial that he stayed out of trouble to ensure he took the title. Tom Ingram, who was trailing Turkington, needed to score at least a podium in the second race of the day, if he was to take the title battle to the final race. It was a captivating race in which Ingram would slice his way through the pack and latch onto the back of the leading trio of Cammish, Neal and Jordan. Unfortunately for Ingram, the podium spot was just out of reach and despite a brief scare for Turkington, in which he made contact with Dan Lloyd and went through the Paddock Hill Bend gravel trap, he did enough to take his third British title.


The huge crowd at Brands Hatch were then treated to an epic finale when Josh Cook and Ash Sutton entered battle Royale around the GP circuit and had the crowd on their feet as they swapped positions on numerous occasions. It was a photo finish at the end and Sutton took an incredible win, while Rob Austin ended his first season in the Alfa on a high by coming home in third. After the dust had settled, it was time for the usual end of season presentations on the start/finish straight and the big crowd had all come to see Turkington lift the coveted trophy.

The Northern Irishman's season was one of sublime consistency, as he only won one race all season which came at Oulton Park back in the summer, but it was his ten podium finishes amongst a whole host of top ten's which highlighted his brilliance during the campaign. Tom Ingram became a two-time Independent Champion, as did his Speedworks team and Tom Chilton capped off a brilliant year in the new Focus RS, by finishing 3rd in the overall standings and runner up in the Independent standings.


It's been a stellar year in the BTCC in 2018. A year in which we've celebrated it's 60th birthday. A record-breaking 17 different race winners tells the story of how this season has gone down as one of the best in recent memory.

All focus will now switch towards 2019 and to see if Turkington can retain his crown, or will a new king be crowned?


1:Colin TURKINGTON - 304

2:Tom INGRAM - 292

3:Tom CHILTON - 266

4:Ashley SUTTON - 256

5: Andrew JORDAN - 247

6:Josh COOK - 246

7:Adam MORGAN - 232

8:Jack GOFF - 228

9: Matt NEAL: 223

10:Dan CAMMISH - 218


Check out our Podcast!
New Le Mans 2024 clothing coming soon!

Advertise with Prescott Motorsport and get your brand in front of thousands of passionate motorsport fans. Take advantage of our huge readership and leverage our website to promote your business, product or service. 

bottom of page