top of page

2023 London E-Prix Race Review (Round 16)

Nick Cassidy wins in brilliant fashion to seal Envision the Championship title

Nick Cassidy drove an excellent race in really tricky wet conditions to take victory in the final race of the season and seal Envision Racing the Teams’ Championship in the process. Jaguar’s Mitch Evans came home in a very good P2 whilst World Champion Jake Dennis rounded out the Podium.

The Most Notable Moments

The race was delayed for a long time due to heavy rain and after an hour and a half later than it should’ve been (including 8 laps behind the Safety Car), the final E-Prix of Season 9 was underway with Nick Cassidy leading from Mitch Evans and Nissan’s Norman Nato who had a brilliant Qualifying. It was pretty clear early on that Cassidy and Evans had a massive pace advantage over the cars behind before Jake Dennis was able to jump Nato during the first Attack Mode activation period which allowed the Brit to pull away from the chasing field. There were some good overtakes in this race, but there were also quite a few sketchy moments where drivers nearly lost their cars completely. It’s worth mentioning that due to it raining, energy wasn’t really a factor so we just got to see all 22 drivers push as hard as possible and it was clear that Nick Cassidy was the class of the field, but Mitch Evans was doing a good job to stick with his fellow Kiwi. Not much else really happened other than Jake Dennis’ pace picked up towards the end and he ended up with the Fastest Lap of the race.

Drivers who Impressed

Nick Cassidy has been brilliant all season long, but this felt different. It felt like Cassidy was out to make a statement after his Championship hopes dwindled in the last two rounds. Mitch Evans also drove a really good race to finish his strong season on a high whilst Jake Dennis can be happy with his record-breaking 11th Podium of the season. It feels fitting that these 3 ended up on the Podium in the last E-Prix of the season given they’ve been the class of the Season 9 field. Norman Nato and Stoffel Vandoorne can also be happy to end their seasons on a high whilst Nico Muller and Dan Ticktum did really well to score points.

Drivers who Struggled

It was really hard for anyone to make much progress in this race, but I did expect more from Antonio Felix da Costa and Lucas di Grassi. Jake Hughes and Roberto Merhi also had tough days at the back whilst Andre Lotterer and Jean-Eric Vergne didn’t end their seasons at all well.

Overall Race Results

  1. Nick Cassidy: Winner

  2. Mitch Evans: +4.934

  3. Jake Dennis: +16.295 (FL)

  4. Norman Nato: +24.819

  5. Stoffel Vandoorne: +26.290

  6. Sebastien Buemi: +27.406

  7. Sam Bird: +29.376

  8. Nico Muller: +30.304

  9. Dan Ticktum: +30.832

  10. Pascal Wehrlein: +35.558

  11. Edoardo Mortara: +36.615

  12. Rene Rast: +38.160

  13. Sergio Sette Camara: +40.295

  14. Maximilian Gunther: +51.140

  15. Sacha Fenestraz: +51.918

  16. Antonio Felix da Costa: +53.336

  17. Robin Frijns: +56.608

  18. Lucas di Grassi: +58.064

  19. Jake Hughes: +59.956

  20. Roberto Merhi: +1:02.506

  21. Andre Lotterer: +1:02.890

  22. Jean-Eric Vergne: +1 Lap

Complete ABB FIA Formula E Season 9 Drivers’ Standings:

  1. Jake Dennis: 229pts

  2. Nick Cassidy: 199pts

  3. Mitch Evans: 197pts

  4. Pascal Wehrlein: 149pts

  5. Jean-Eric Vergne: 107pts

  6. Sebastien Buemi: 105pts

  7. Maximilian Gunther: 101pts

  8. Sam Bird: 95pts

  9. Antonio Felix da Costa: 93pts

  10. Norman Nato: 63pts

  11. Stoffel Vandoorne: 56pts

  12. Jake Hughes: 48pts

  13. Rene Rast: 40pts

  14. Edoardo Mortara: 39pts

  15. Lucas di Grassi: 32pts

  16. Sacha Fenestraz: 32pts

  17. Dan Ticktum: 28pts

  18. Andre Lotterer: 23pts

  19. Nico Muller: 15pts

  20. Sergio Sette Camara: 14pts

  21. Oliver Rowland: 9pts

  22. Robin Frijns: 6pts

  23. Roberto Merhi: 0pts

  24. Kelvin van der Linde: 0pts

  25. David Beckmann: 0pts

Complete ABB FIA Formula E Season 9 Teams’ Standings:

  1. Envision Racing: 304pts

  2. Jaguar TCS Racing: 292pts

  3. Avalanche Andretti: 252pts

  4. TAG Heuer Porsche: 243pts

  5. DS Penske: 163pts

  6. Maserati MSG: 140pts

  7. Nissan: 95pts

  8. NEOM McLaren: 88pts

  9. NIO 333: 42pts

  10. Mahindra Racing: 41pts

  11. ABT CUPRA: 21pts

Note: Just wanted to say thank you to anyone that has read these Race Reviews over the course of the 2023 ABB FIA Formula E Season. I’ve very much enjoyed doing these reviews and I appreciate everyone who has taken the time to read them. Finally, congratulations to Jake Dennis and to Envision Racing for becoming World Champions in Season 9!


Check out our Podcast!
New Le Mans 2024 clothing coming soon!

Advertise with Prescott Motorsport and get your brand in front of thousands of passionate motorsport fans. Take advantage of our huge readership and leverage our website to promote your business, product or service. 

bottom of page